Bristol Botanical Gardens

There are very few places that I would voluntarily walk over an hour to get to, but in this case I have no regrets. The most beautiful sight I have seen since moving to Bristol, for a moment I forgot I was in the city and felt completely at peace with the world (which doesn’t happen very often).

New Image

I love gardens. Don’t get me wrong I love garden centres, parks, walking by the river, but being somewhere where you can see the love and care that has gone into it, all while still feeling natural and peaceful. Zen.

DSC_7193_edited

As soon as I walked in I was overwhelmed by it’s beauty.

DSC_7131_edited

Around every corner was something new.

DSC_7147_edited

And … surprising …

DSC_7150_edited

Even if I did get lost a few times.

DSC_7184_edited

For a while I sat down and enjoyed the view, with a sudden urge to sing Amy Winehouse.

‘Well sometimes I go out by myself, and I look across the water…’

(I’m just to cool.)

DSC_7202_edited

In the end I found the greenhouses, which was by far my favourite part. I mean look at all of the cacti.

DSC_7214_edited

And some more.

DSC_7218_edited

And more!

DSC_7261_edited

It was amazing but not the sort of place you can linger for to long, it doesn’t just look like a tropical rain forest. It was hot, very hot.

DSC_7237_edited

There were plants that I couldn’t even have imagine existed. I went into full on tourist mode, taking photos of everything.

DSC_7244_edited

They had a Monstera as well, enough of a reason by it’s self to visit, because it’s the best plant ever. It was the definition of plant goals, but I had this sneaky suspicion that they might notice if I carried it home. Plus I had this feeling that Regan (my Monstera) might get a bit jealous.

DSC_7233_edited

I’m not mad I promise…

Definitely day worth while. It did take me two hours to get home, I’m really good at getting lost.

For more information about the gardens see here.

 

Leave a Reply

